My own Blog! Now none of us will be…

mavichak blog

Bento everywhere! May 22, 2010

Filed under: Assigment,Culture — mavichakp1 @ 12:57 pm

When I’m here in Japan I can confirm that Japanese culture is a moving culture, people always seem to be on the move, whether it will be getting on to the next train or a simple dairy shopping. Being this busy, it is not surprising to see all the fast food and sandwich lining up in the convenient store. But there are also another type of food that have been selling well here, having a whole bigger section of them than the former sandwich and bread type of food, the Lunch/Dinner box which was called “Bento” here. You could get Bento basically everywhere, and inside the box is an actual decent meal with Rice, Meat or Fish and Vegetable for sides. You could quickly eat the bento while you’re on the train or waiting for something. I saw this as one of the cultural perspective of Japan, where one would prefer to have a decent nutritious meal over the others even when you do not have much time. So there is no wonder why there are so many delicious food coming from this country cuisine where they devote their time to the food!

 

3 Responses to “Bento everywhere!”

  1. botorow1 Says:

    So that’s what those things are called. I remember eating those for breakfast every morning on the Shinkansen from Osaka. Those were really good meals. I remember the first day I ate one, I refused to have them warm it up in the microwave. It was probably not the best idea. The food in those packages was excellent none the less. It makes me wish we were all still taking those day trips on the bullet train. :(

  2. barry1033 Says:

    I know you love Bento since you eat a Bento every five minutes(j/k). However, I agree that Japan had this moving culture since everyone was so busy and got no time to eat. Having a decent Bento while waiting for a bus/train is awesome! Enjoy your Bento, bro.

  3. fleuritta Says:

    Oh Pvan! That is such a good point. Since Japanese are very active, they get most of their meals in stations while hustling to get into different places. Dr. C gave us the chance to experience that aspect of the Japanese culture by opting for the subway and the trains as our means of transportation. I agree with you because personally, as a chocolate lover, I was able to get it every morning without constraints. I also managed to save up money by getting the packaged meals, not to forget the sushi I


Leave a comment